Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

JGR, Penske thriving, while RCR, Roush continue record winless streaks

Richard Childress, Austin Dillon, Paul Menard, Ryan Newman

Richard Childress, Austin Dillon, Paul Menard, Ryan Newman


For three Sprint Cup teams, winning comes easy these days.

When Joey Logano won the Bank of America 500 Sunday at Charlotte Motor Speedway, he reset Team Penske’s winless streak counter to zero.

It had only reached five races.

Meanwhile, Stewart-Haas Racing’s is at one after Kevin Harvick’s win in Dover two weeks ago. The victory ended the team’s 13-race winless streak going back to June at Michigan.

That’s how long it’s been since Hendrick Motorsports won its last race in the Coke Zero 400 at Daytona.

Joe Gibbs Racing hasn’t won in two races. Since Denny Hamlin won at Martinsville Speedway in the sixth race of the year, JGR hasn’t gone more than three races without a win.

Before Hamlin’s Martinsville triumph, JGR had gone 32 races without a win. Its longest winless stretch is 56 races.

It’s that kind of stretch that’s plaguing the teams at Richard Childress Racing and Roush Fenway Racing.

Austin Dillon was the highest finishing driver for RCR at Charlotte, placing seventh. It was the 67th-straight Sprint Cup race a RCR car had not won. It continued to build on a team record of 60 races that was set on Aug. 18 in the second Michigan race.

That race proved to be one of RCR’s best shots in 2015 to win. Dillon had the most solid performance of his two years in Sprint Cup, leading a career-high 19 laps and finishing a career-best fourth.

RCR’s previous high of 59 races came in the final 27 races in 1996 and all 32 races in 1997. Dale Earnhardt Sr. ended that drought with his win in the 1998 Daytona 500.

For Roush, it is winless in its last 50 races - a team record since it first won a race in 1989 with Mark Martin, which took 55 races.

Carl Edwards, now with JGR, was the last driver to visit victory lane for Roush, winning the 2014 race at Sonoma Raceway.

The team’s previous longest drought was 39 races, set between the end of 1995 and April 1997 when Jeff Burton won his first career race at Texas Motor Speedway.

Both RCR and Roush have the last six races this year and beyond to end their respective streaks. Michael Waltrip Racing, which hasn’t won in 63 races, doesn’t have as long with the team set to close after this season.

The Cup series goes to Kansas Speedway this weekend. The 1.5-mile track has hosted only one RCR win, when Harvick claimed his penultimate victory for the team in the fall 2013 race.

For Roush, Kansas has been friendly in the past as the site of four of its 135 total wins. The last was by Matt Kenseth in 2012.

Here’s a look at the last time RCR and Roush won at each of the remaining six tracks

Richard Childress Racing - Last Win

Kansas Speedway - Kevin Harvick, Oct. 6, 2013

Talladega Superspeedway - Clint Bowyer, Oct. 23, 2011

Martinsville Speedway - Kevin Harvick, April 3, 2011

Texas Motor Speedway - Jeff Burton, April 15, 2007

Phoenix International Raceway - Kevin Harvick, Nov. 10, 2013

Homestead-Miami Speedway - no wins

Roush Fenway Racing - Last win

Kansas Speedway - Matt Kenseth, Oct. 21, 2012

Talladega Superspeedway - Matt Kenseth, Oct. 7, 2012

Martinsville Speedway - Kurt Busch, Oct. 20, 2002

Texas Motor Speedway - Greg Biffle, April 12, 2012

Phoenix International Raceway - Carl Edwards, March 3, 2013

Homestead-Miami Speedway - Carl Edwards, Nov. 21, 2010

Follow @DanielMcFadin