Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Kyle Busch earns Brickyard 400 pole position for second year in a row

Kyle Busch's quest for a Brickyard 400 three-peat continues with his 23rd Cup series pole position.

With a speed of 187.301 mph, Kyle Busch won the pole for the Brickyard 400 and helped out his chances of earning his first Cup win in one year.

His second pole in a row at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, it is also Busch’s fourth of the season, a career-best mark for the Joe Gibbs Racing driver. He has earned three poles twice (2013, 2014).

Busch will be seeking his third win in a row in the Brickyard 400. Last years’ race was the last time Busch won a Cup race.

The top five is completed by Kevin Harvick, Jamie McMurray, Jimmie Johnson and Denny Hamlin.

“Just fortunate enough to be in a fast race car here at Indy,” Busch told NBCSN. “We’ve been really good here, we just need to put it all together. Today we did that. The guys made some really good adjustments for me in the garage area for practice today. I didn’t fee like we were the best. We didn’t even make any mock (qualifying) runs today, the day was so short. That goes to show how good theses guys are.”

McMurray qualified in the top five for this sixth time this year and his third race in a row.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. will start 13th in his final Brickyard 400.

Matt Kenseth follows in 14th, then Daniel Suarez and Chase Elliott.

Click here for full qualifying results.