Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Evgeni Malkin is the 2011-12 Ted Lindsay Award winner

Pittsburgh Penguins v Toronto Maple Leafs

TORONTO, CANADA- FEBRUARY 1: Evgeni Malkin #71 of the Pittsburgh Penguins skates in the warm-up prior to a game against the Toronto Maple Leafs on February 1, 2012 at the Air Canada Centre in Toronto, Canada. (Photo by Claus Andersen/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Evgeni Malkin has been nominated for the Ted Lindsay Award three times, but this is the first time that he has captured the award. The other two finalists were the New York Rangers’ Henrik Lundqvist and Tampa Bay’s Steven Stamkos.

Malkin shined this season and was a leader for Pittsburgh with Sidney Crosby sidelined for the vast majority of the season. He had 50 goals and a league-leading 109 points in 75 games.

Formerly known as the Lester B. Pearson Award, this trophy is given to the NHL’s top player as voted on by his peers.

Malkin joins Mario Lemieux, Jaromir Jagr, and Sidney Crosby as Pittsburgh Penguins who have captured the Lester B. Pearson/Ted Lindsay Award. After leaving Pittsburgh, Jagr captured his third Lester B. Pearson in 2006 as a member of the New York Rangers.

Recent Winners:
2007 - Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh)
2008-10 - Alexander Ovechkin (Washington)
2011 - Daniel Sedin (Vancouver)