Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Joey Logano dominates en route to Xfinity Series win in Phoenix

Logano Xfinity win PHX1 2015 Getty

It was domination in the desert, as Joey Logano ran away with Saturday’s NASCAR Xfinity Series race at Phoenix International Raceway.

Logano, who started on the pole, led 176 of the 200 laps. He became the fourth winner in the four Xfinity Series races this season.

“It’s one of those days that if you don’t win, you’d be really frustrated because you had the winning car all day,” Logano told Fox Sports.

Piloting the No. 22 Discount Tire Ford Mustang, Logano recorded his first Xfinity Series win since Sept. 28, 2013, breaking a 13-race winless streak.

The Team Penske driver entered with runner-up finishes in his last four Xfinity races, dating to last summer at Atlanta.

Matt Kenseth (led 14 laps) was second. Kevin Harvick, who did not lead a lap, was third. Austin Dillon was fourth. Erik Jones finished fifth, his first top five in the series.

“I thought we had a car that could have won, I just couldn’t get there and couldn’t get it done,” Kenseth said.

Ty Dillon is first in the Xfinity standings with a 14-point lead over Chris Buescher, a 22-point edge over Ryan Reed and a 25-point margin over reigning series champion Chase Elliott and Darrell Wallace Jr.


1 Joey Logano (led 176 laps)
2 Matt Kenseth (led 14 laps)
3 Kevin Harvick
4 Austin Dillon (led 4 laps)
5 Erik Jones
6 Ty Dillon
7 Chase Elliott
8 Brendan Gaughan
9 Regan Smith
10 Brian Scott
11 Daniel Suarez
12 Elliott Sadler
13 Ryan Reed
14 Chris Buescher
15 Darrell Wallace Jr.
16 Jeremy Clements
17 Ryan Sieg
18 Dakoda Armstrong
19 Dylan Lupton
20 Mike Bliss
21 David Starr
22 Cale Conley
23 Harrison Rhodes
24 JJ Yeley
25 Blake Koch
26 Brennan Poole (led 6 laps)
27 Ross Chastain
28 Jamie Dick
29 Eric McClure
30 Charles Lewandowski
31 Joey Gase
32 Carl Long
33 Derrike Cope
34 Enrique Contreras
35 Mike Harmon
36 Peyton Sellers
37 Landon Cassill
38 Mario Gosselin
39 Derek White
40 Jeff Green

Average Speed:
109.141 MPH
Time of Race: 1 Hrs, 49 Mins, 57 Secs.
Cautions: 4 for 26 laps
Margin of Victory: 0.293 Seconds
Lead Changes: 7 among 4 drivers

Follow @JerryBonkowski