Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Matt Kenseth’s five-race Xfinity Series schedule is set

Lilly Diabetes 250

INDIANAPOLIS, IN - JULY 26: Matt Kenseth, driver of the #20 Resers Toyota, takes part in pre-race ceremonies for the NASCAR Nationwide Series Lilly Diabetes 250 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on July 26, 2014 in Indianapolis, Indiana. (Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Former NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Matt Kenseth said late last year that he’d reduce his Xfinity Series program to five races.

Now, we know which races they’ll be.

The 2003 Cup champ will run the Xfinity events at Atlanta Motor Speedway (Feb. 28), Phoenix International Raceway (March 14), Dover International Speedway (May 30), Chicagoland Speedway (Sept. 19), and Kansas Speedway (Oct. 17).

For those events, he’ll run the No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota Camry with backing from Reser’s Fine Foods and with Mike Wheeler as crew chief. Wheeler has transitioned to crew chief following several seasons as race engineer for Denny Hamlin on JGR’s No. 11 Cup team.

Last season, Kenseth made 19 Xfinity starts in the No. 20 Toyota and won in the series’ season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway. He also collected 10 top-5 and 15 top-10 finishes.

During his overall career in NASCAR’s No. 2 national series, he’s won 29 times in 283 starts.

Follow @estradawriting