Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

PFA Team of the Year announced. Did they get it right?

Manchester City v Tottenham Hotspur - Premier League

MANCHESTER, ENGLAND - FEBRUARY 14: Harry Kane of Tottenham Hotspur celebrates scoring his penalty with Danny Rose during the Barclays Premier League match between Manchester City and Tottenham Hotspur at Etihad Stadium on February 14, 2016 in Manchester, England. (Photo by Alex Livesey/Getty Images)

Getty Images

The Professional Footballers’ Association announced their Premier League Team of the Year on Thursday for the 2015-16 season.
[ MORE: Falcao interested in MLS ]

Each player playing in the PL had the chance to vote for their fellow pros and four players from both Leicester City and Tottenham Hotspur were included, while one each from Manchester United, Arsenal and West Ham made up the XI.

Leicester’s players included were Wes Morgan, N’Golo Kante, Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy, while Toby Alderweireld, Danny Rose, Dele Alli and Harry Kane got the nod for Spurs.

[ MORE: Hummels transfer speculation ]

Manchester United’s David de Gea was named the best goalkeeper, while West Ham United’s playmaker Dimitri Payet and Arsenal’s right back Hector Bellerin were also included.

Below is the team in full:

Do we agree with the 11 players selected? To me, mostly, they got it spot on.

Vardy and Kane were the standout strikers, while the back four of Rose, Alderweireld, Morgan and Bellerin all deserved it. That said, if we were tweaking the formation maybe Bellerin could have been omitted and Robert Huth could’ve been included in a three-man defense with Alderweireld and Morgan.

However, the players are asked to select the best right back, two center backs and left back on their ballot. Nathaniel Clyne, Danny Simpson and Kyle Walker will be disappointed not to get a shout at right back, while Ryan Bertrand and Christian Fuchs must have been close to get the nod at left back.

De Gea again got the nod but Hugo Lloris can feel hard done by as the Frenchman has skippered the best defense in the PL impressively and does all of the simple things so well and with minimum fuss. He is also one of the most agile human beings on the planet.

In midfield Alli, Kante, Mahrez and Payet are all worthy, with Manchester City’s Kevin de Bruyne, Tottenham’s Eric Dier and Arsenal’s Mesut Ozil unlucky to miss out.

Up front, the only other players close to getting a look in where Romelu Lukaku and Sergio Aguero.

All in all, it’s hard to argue with the PFA’s selections with the both Leicester and Tottenham heavily represented in banner years for both clubs.

Follow @JPW_NBCSports