Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Ballon d’Or Feminin 2023 nominees: USWNT’s Sophia Smith only American

United States women’s national team playmaker Sophia Smith is the only American on the Ballon d’Or Feminin shortlist, and one of only two CONCACAF players on the European-heavy list.

There will be a new winner this season, as Spain’s Alexia Putellas missed much of the year leading up to the side’s World Cup win.

[ LATEST: Berhalter calls up 24 for Uzbekistan, Oman friendlies | Watch on Peacock, en Español, & Telemundo]

Sam Kerr has twice finished third in voting (2021, 2022) and is the only player among the nominees who has previously finished in the final three.

Below you’ll find the 2023 Ballon d’Or Feminin shortlist, as well as previous winners and all winners of FIFA’s annual honors, too.

2023 Ballon d’Or Feminin shortlist: The final nominees

Aitana Bonmati (Spain)
Mille Bright (England)
Linda Caicedo (Colombia)
Olga Carmona (Spain)
Rachel Daly (England)
Debinha (Brazil)
Kadidiatou Diani (France)
Mary Earps (England)
Patricia Guijarro (Spain)
Yui Hasegawa (Japan)
Amanda Ilestedt (Sweden)
Sam Kerr (Australia)
Mapi Leon (Spain)
Katie McCabe (Ireland)
Hinata Miyazawa (Japan)
Lena Oberdorf (Germany)
Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)
Ewa Pajor (Poland)
Salma Paralluelo (Spain)
Alexandra Popp (Germany)
Hayley Raso (Australia)
Alba Redondo (Spain)
Guro Reiten (Norway)
Wendie Renard (France)
Fridolina Rolfo (Sweden)
Jill Roord (Netherlands)
Khadija Shaw (Jamaica)
Sophia Smith (USWNT)
Georgia Stanway (England)
Daphne van Domeslaar (Netherlands)

Ballon d’Or Feminin winners, all-time

2022: Alexia Putellas (Spain) | 2nd: Beth Mead (England), Sam Kerr (Australia)

2021: Alexia Putellas (Spain) | 2nd: Jennifer Hermoso (Spain), Sam Kerr (Australia)

2020: Not awarded (COVID-19 pandemic)
2019: Megan Rapinoe (USWNT) | 2nd: Lucy Bronze (England), Alex Morgan (USWNT)

2018: Ada Hegerberg (Norway) | 2nd: Pernille Harder (Denmark), Dzsenifer Marozsan (Germany)

The Best FIFA Women’s Player, all-time

2022: Alexia Putellas (Spain) | 2nd: Alex Morgan (USWNT), 3rd: Beth Mead (Arsenal)
2021: Alexia Putellas (Spain)| 2nd: Sam Kerr (Australia), 3rd: Jennifer Hermoso (Spain)
2020: Lucy Bronze (England)| 2nd: Pernille Harder (Denmark), 3rd: Wendie Renard (France)
2019: Megan Rapinoe (USWNT)| 2nd: Alex Morgan (USWNT), 3rd: Lucy Bronze (England)
2018: Marta (Brazil)| 2nd: Dzsenifer Marozsan (Germany), 3rd: Ada Hegerberg (Norway)
2017: Lieke Martens (Barcelona) | 2nd: Carli Lloyd (USWNT), 3rd: Deyna Castellanos (Venezuela)
2016: Carli Lloyd (USWNT)| 2nd: Marta (Brazil), 3rd: Melanie Behringer (Germany)

FIFA Women’s World Players of the Year, all-time

2015: Carli Lloyd (USWNT) | 2nd: Celia Sasic (Germany), 3rd: Aya Miyama (Japan)
2014: Nadine Keßler (Germany) | 2nd: Marta (Brazil), 3rd: Abby Wambach (USWNT)
2013: Nadine Angerer (Germany) | 2nd: Abby Wambach (USWNT), 3rd: Marta (Brazil)
2012: Abby Wambach (USWNT) | 2nd: Marta (Brazil), 3rd: Alex Morgan (USWNT)
2011: Homare Sawa (Japan)| 2nd: Marta (Brazil), 3rd: Abby Wambach (USWNT)
2010: Marta (Brazil) | 2nd: Birgit Prinz (Germany), 3rd: Fatmire Bajramaj (Germany)
2009: Marta (Brazil) | 2nd: Birgit Prinz (Germany). 3rd: Kelly Smith (England)
2008: Marta (Brazil) | 2nd: Birgit Prinz (Germany). 3rd: Cristiane (Brazil)
2007: Marta (Brazil)| 2nd: Birgit Prinz (Germany), 3rd: Cristiane (Brazil)
2006: Marta (Brazil) | 2nd: Kristine Lilly (USWNT), 3rd: Renate Lingor (Germany)
2005: Birgit Prinz (Germany) | 2nd: Marta (Brazil) , 3rd: Shannon Boxx (USWNT)
2004: Birgit Prinz (Germany) | 2nd: Mia Hamm (USWNT), 3rd: Marta (Brazil)
2003: Birgit Prinz (Germany) | 2nd: Mia Hamm (USWNT), 3rd: Hanna Ljungberg (Sweden)
2002: Mia Hamm (USWNT) | 2nd: Birgit Prinz (Germany), 3rd: Sun Wen (China)
2001: Mia Hamm (USWNT) | 2nd: Sun Wen (China), 3rd: Tiffeny Milbrett (USWNT)