Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Smith, Stanley named consensus All-Americans

Notre Dame v Syracuse

Notre Dame v Syracuse

Getty Images

Junior linebacker Jaylon Smith and senior offensive lineman Ronnie Stanley were named consensus All-Americans for 2015. They became the first set of Irish teammates to receive the honor since Jeff Burris and Aaron Taylor did so in 1993.

The duo become Notre Dame’s 82nd and 83rd consensus All-Americans. Those 83 players have been awarded consensus All-American kudos 99 separate times, with both numbers being the highest total of any school in the FBS.

Smith also won the Butkus Award, given to the nation’s best linebacker. He was very nearly a unanimous All-American, missing out on first-team kudos from ESPN and FWAA.

Stanley was a semi-finalist for the Outland and Lombardi Trophies. He was named a first-team All-American by the FWAA, AFCA,ESPN, USA Today, CBS Sports, The Sporting News and the Walter Camp Football Foundation.

Smith joins Manti Te’o, Michael Stonebreaker, Bob Crable, Bob Golic and Bob Lynch among consensus All-American linebackers. Stanley is the first offensive lineman to earn the kudos since Taylor, and is the 23rd offensive lineman to be named a consensus All-American in the program’s history.