Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

2015 Copa America: Champions Chile dominate Team of the Tournament

Chile Soccer Copa America Chile Argentina

Chile’s players celebrate with the Copa America trophy after defeating Argentina in the final soccer match at the National Stadium in Santiago, Chile, Saturday, July 4, 2015. Chile became Copa America champions for the first time after defeating Argentina in a penalty shootout. (AP Photo/Luis Hidalgo)


Chile won the highest team honor in South American soccer by claiming the Copa America title over Argentina on Saturday, and now La Roja are taking home some individual awards as well.

[ MORE: All of PST’s Copa America coverage ]

The Copa America announced the Team of the Tournament today, which features five Chileans, three Argentinians, two Peruvians and a lone Colombian.

It was a pretty easy choice at striker, as the tournament’s top scorers Eduardo Vargas and Paolo Guerrero were joined by Lionel Messi for the team’s front line.

[ COPA AMERICA: Top scorer, Best Young Player, Golden Gloves ]

Arturo Vidal and Javier Mascherano, who faced off in the Champions League final and again in the Copa America final, find themselves as midfield partners for this side.

“The Pitbull” Gary Medel centers the back line, while his Chilean teammate and Golden Gloves winner Claudio Bravo stands in goal.

2015 Copa America Team of the Tournament (3-4-3)

Goalkeeper: Claudio Bravo (Chile)

Defenders: Jeison Murillo (Colombia), Gary Medel (Chile), Nicolas Otamendi (Argentina)

Midfielders: Christian Cueva (Peru), Marcelo Diaz (Chile), Javier Mascherano (Argentina), Arturo Vidal (Chile)

Forwards: Eduardo Vargas (Chile), Paolo Guerrero (Peru), Lionel Messi (Argentina)