Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Cristiano Ronaldo wins 2017 Ballon d’Or


during the UEFA Champions League group H match between Real Madrid and Borussia Dortmund at Estadio Santiago Bernabeu on December 6, 2017 in Madrid, Spain.

Denis Doyle

For the fifth time and the second-straight year, Cristiano Ronaldo has won soccer’s highest individual honor.

Ronaldo beat out Lionel Messi and Neymar for the 2017 Ballon d’Or, tying him with Messi for the most Ballon d’Or’s in history. Neymar finished third in the voting followed by Gianluigi Buffon, Luka Modric, Sergio Ramos, Kylian Mbappe, N’Golo Kante, Robert Lewandowski, and Harry Kane in that order.

[READ: Top Premier League storylines — Week 16]

The former Manchester United winger had quite the year in 2017, leading Real Madrid to four titles including La Liga and the UEFA Champions League for the second-consecutive season. In 2017, he’s scored 29 goals in 43 matches in all competitions.

Ronaldo accepted his award from midway up the Eiffel Tower in France.