Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Illinois’ Kofi Cockburn accidentally hits official

Michigan v Illinois

CHAMPAIGN, IL - DECEMBER 11: Kofi Cockburn #21 of the Illinois Fighting Illini reaches to block the shot of Franz Wagner #21 of the Michigan Wolverines during the first half at State Farm Center on December 11, 2019 in Champaign, Illinois. (Photo by Michael Hickey/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Kofi Cockburn got a big bucket and a foul to put Illinois up 66-54 against No. 5 Michigan, and, understandably, was fired. Up, so fired up, in fact, the 7-foot, 290-pound freshman swung his arm in celebration, something you’ve seen a million times on the basketball court.

This time, though, referee Lewis Garrison was, unbeknownst to Cockburn, immediately behind him. Cockburn’s fist accidentally struck Garrison in the head.

Garrison was on the floor for a few moments before being helped back to the locker room.

Clearly, an fluke accident, but a scary one.