Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Berlin to host Formula E double-header in place of Brussels

Berlin Formula E Race

BERIN, GERMANY - MAY 21: In this handout image supplied by Formula E, Rene Rast (GER), Team Aguri - Spark SRT_01E during the Berlin Formula E race on May 21, 2016 in Berlin, Germany. (Photo by LAT/Formula E via Getty Images)

Formula E via Getty Images

Formula E has confirmed that the Berlin ePrix will be a double-header race weekend following the cancellation of the Brussels event.

The race in Brussels was set to take place on July 1, only for the regional government to vote against it being held in the city center, putting the event at risk of falling off the calendar. The race was officially canceled for 2017 on Thursday.

To ensure the calendar for season three stays at 12 races, Formula E has confirmed that the Berlin weekend will now feature two races: one on Saturday June 10, the second on Sunday June 11.

Berlin’s format will mirror the double-header weekends run in London through Formula E’s first two seasons, and means that the final three events will feature two races. Both New York (July 15-16) and Montreal (July 29-30) were already planned to be double-headers.

The Berlin event will return to its season one location of Tempelhof Airport after city officials voted against it returning to Karl-Marx-Allee, where it was staged last year.

The addition of a race on the Sunday places greater pressure on a number of drivers and personnel who will be traveling to Le Mans in France ahead of the 24-hour race the following weekend.

Most had planned to use the Sunday as a travel day before the start of Le Mans festivities on the Monday, but will now face a tighter schedule to make the trip from Berlin.

Updated 2016/2017 Formula E Calendar

1. Hong Kong - October 9
2. Marrakesh - November 12
3. Buenos Aires - February 18
4. Mexico City - April 1
5. Monaco - May 13
6. Paris - May 20
7. Berlin - June 10
8. Berlin - June 11
9. New York - July 15
10. New York - July 16
11. Montreal - July 29
12. Montreal - July 30

Follow @LukeSmithF1