Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Kyle Larson has 10 wins in seven divisions at Eldora Speedway

Larson seven wins divisions

In his first start in a UMP Modified car, Kyle Larson won Tuesday night at Eldora Speedway to record wins in seven divisions on the half-mile dirt track. Larson previously won there in the NASCAR Truck Series, winged sprint cars, dirt late models, Silver Crown cars, midgets and non-winged sprints. In a car owned and prepared by fellow NASCAR racer Justin Allgaier ran away from Tyler Nicely and the rest of the field with a margin of victory more than six seconds. Nicely would win the following night in at Brownstown (Indiana) Speedway.

Qualifying sixth, Larson lined up in the sixth heat race of the evening, so despite winning that race he was forced to start the main on the outside of Row 3. It didn’t take long for Larson to find the lead, taking the top spot from Trevor Neville on Lap 7 of the 20-lap race. Even while making a pass for the lead, Larson set the fastest lap of the race at 18.267 seconds.

With seven wins in seven divisions on this track, Larson set a record that is unlikely to ever be broken. This is Larson’s 10th win overall at Eldora.

Larson set the tone in September 2011 when he swept three USAC races in a single day. He won a 50-lap Silver Crown race ahead of Levi Jones, took the checkers first in a National Midget race over Bryan Clauson and won the National Wingless Sprint race over Dave Darland. Larson won a National Midgets race at Eldora again in the following year in 2012.

Larson’s Truck win came in 2016 when he beat fellow dirt standout Christopher Bell in the Eldora Dirt Derby.

Larson won an All Circuit of Champions Sprint Car race in June 2018.

MORE: Kyle Larson finishes second to Jonathan Davenport in Wild West Shootout

In July 2021, Larson achieved a distinction most full-time sprint car drivers spend their lifetime chasing. He won the Kings Royal that season over a field packed with World of Outlaws superstars including Brad Sweet, Jac and Sheldon Haudenschild, Tyler Courtney and Donny Schatz.

In April 2022, he beat Jonathan Davenport in a dirt late model race.

Tuesday night, Larson also competed in the late model division and finished 10th in a car he took to Victory Lane this January in Golden Isles Speedway in Waynesville, Georgia.

MORE: Giovanni Scelzi wins first High Limit Sprint Car race of 2023