Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Joey Logano sets record with Xfinity pole at Watkins Glen

Zippo 200 - Qualifying

Zippo 200 - Qualifying

Getty Images

WATKINS GLEN, N.Y. -- Joey Logano set a track record to win the pole for Saturday’s Xfinity Series race at Watkins Glen International.

The Team Penske driver covered the 2.45-mile road course with a 124.308 mph lap, breaking the mark of 124.194 mph set last year by teammate Brad Keselowski, who qualified second Saturday for the Zippo 200 at The Glen.

It was the 30th pole position of Logano’s career, tying him with Mark Martin for second-most in Xfinity history. It’s also his fourth pole of the Xfinity season and the fifth consecutive in Xfinity at Watkins Glen for Penske.

Defending series champion Chase Elliott qualified third, followed by Kyle Larson and points leader Chris Buescher.

Ty Dillon, Boris Said, Regan Smith, Brian Scott and Paul Menard rounded out the top 10 starting spots for the race, which will begin at 3 p.m. on NBCSN.