Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Rick Hendrick inducted into N.C. Sports Hall of Fame -- Could NASCAR Hall be next?

rick hendrick getty 2015

NASCAR team owner Rick Hendrick on Friday was inducted into the North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame in Raleigh.

Could induction into the NASCAR Hall of Fame be next?

Hendrick is among 20 luminaries up for consideration this Wednesday when the five-inductee NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2016 will be voted upon and announced.

Others up for induction include:

Owners: Richard Childress, Raymond Parks and Robert Yates (also for engine builder).

Crew chiefs: Ray Evernham and Harry Hyde.

Drivers: Buddy Baker, Mark Martin, Red Byron, Jerry Cook, Hershel McGriff, Mike Stefanik, Bobby Isaac, Terry Labonte, Larry Phillips, Curtis Turner, Alan Kulwicki and Benny Parsons.

Also: Raymond Fox (race official, team owner and engine builder) and Speedway Motorsports founder Bruton Smith (executive/promoter).

This will be the seventh consecutive year Hendrick’s name has been on the NASCAR Hall ballot.

Hendrick was inducted into the North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame along with nine others: Jeff Bostic, Joe Bostic, John Clougherty, Freddie Combs, Gene Littles, Jerry McGee, Lenox Rawlings, Charlotte Smith and Andrea Stinson.

“It’s such an honor for me to be here tonight,” Hendrick said after being presented for induction by fellow North Carolina Sports Hall of Famer Woody Durham. “Congratulations to all the inductees here tonight.

“I feel kind of humbled, because most of you folks have earned your status on your own. You are great ball players, great referees, and with me, I take a team. I have to rely on a lot of people.”

Follow @JerryBonkowski