Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Jack Adams Award finalists to be announced tonight

Calgary Flames v Vancouver Canucks - Game Five

Calgary Flames v Vancouver Canucks - Game Five

Jeff Vinnick

The NHL will announce the three finalists for coach of the year tonight. The Jack Adams Award is voted on by the National Hockey League Broadcasters Association. Last year, it was presented to Patrick Roy, head coach of the Colorado Avalanche, who beat out finalists Mike Babcock (Detroit) and Jon Cooper (Tampa Bay).

This year, there’s no shortage of candidates. But one -- Calgary’s Bob Hartley -- is considered the favorite, after leading the Flames to the playoffs.

Not only were the Flames expected by many to be among the league’s worst teams in 2014-15, they were forced to play without captain Mark Giordano down the stretch. Missing one of the best defensemen in hockey, they went 12-6-3, clinching a postseason berth for the first time since 2009.

Other candidates include Ottawa’s Dave Cameron, Winnipeg’s Paul Maurice, Nashville’s Peter Laviolette, New York Rangers’ Alain Vigneault, and Washington’s Barry Trotz.

Related: PHT’s awards picks for 2014-15