Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

2014-15 Barcelona becomes 8th team in history to win European treble

Germany Soccer Champions League Final

Lionel Messi, FC Barcelona


Barcelona’s UEFA Champions League triumph on Saturday completed an historic season for the Blaugrana — historic in the sense that it was the third major trophy of the season for Luis Enrique’s side.

[ FULL RECAP: Juventus 1-3 Barcelona ]

Why is that historic? Because the 2014-15 edition of Barcelona is just the eighth team in the history of the Champions League/European Cup (created in 1955) to win the European treble — domestic league, domestic cup and European cup.

Barcelona also becomes the first club to win multiple European trebles, having achieved the trio of triumph under Pep Guardiola during the 2008-09 season, when they defeated Manchester United in the UCL final, by the score of 2-0.

Complete list of teams to win a European treble

Celtic, 1966-67
Ajax, 1971-72
PSV, 1987-88
Manchester United, 1998-99
Barcelona, 2008-09
Inter Milan, 2009-10
Bayern Munich, 2012-13
Barcelona, 2014-15

Lionel Messi finishes the 2014-15 season with 58 goals scored across all competition, with Neymar (42) and Luis Suarez (25) rounding out what will go down as one of the great attacking trios of all time. With any luck, the South American trio will pick up next year right where they left off this year and continue this rich run of form for another three to five years, minimum (Suarez is the oldest, at 28; Messi - 27; Neymar - 23).

Is another treble on the cards for Barca next season? It’s far too early to tell, but with Xavi the only likely departure this summer, they’ll be back and just as strong — if not stronger — in August.

Follow @AndyEdMLS