Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

Where They Stand: Who’s in, who’s out after UEFA Champions League finishes group play


After the shocks (Galatasaray), drama (Borussia Dortmund), and perhaps predictable (Chelsea), we’re down to 16 teams, UEFA’s Champions League Wednesday having identified the final club. who will move on the competition’s Round of 16. That phase is scheduled to begin play in February, though next week we’ll find out the matchups, with the competition’s eight group winners set to be drawn against the teams who finished second in group phase.

Those teams will include Arsenal, who joins Manchester City as clubs to avoid in the runners up pool. The Premier League leaders’ 2-0 loss in Naples created a three-way tie in Group F, one that sent 2012-13 finalists Borussia Dortmund through as group winners and Napoli to Europa League.

Though Arsenal and City can’t be drawn against teams from their own federation, precluding a Round of 16 matchup with Manchester United and Chelsea, the rule could work against the English duo next Monday. The Gunners are destined to face one of Real Madrid, Paris Saint-Germain, Bayern Munich, Atlético Madrid or Barcelona in the Round of 16. Swap in Borussia Dortmund for Bayern, and the list is the same for City.

We’ll circle back with more on the potential knockout round matchups. For now, here’s who’s


Group winners

  • A: Manchester United (14 pts.)
  • B: Real Madrid (16 pts.)
  • C: Paris Saint-Germain (13 pts.)
  • D: Bayern Munich (15 pts.)
  • E: Chelsea (12 pts.)
  • F: Borussia Dortmund (12 pts.)
  • G: Atlético Madrid (13 pts., five games)
  • H: Barcelona (13 pts.)

Runners up

  • A: Bayer Leverkusen (10 pts.)
  • B: Galatasaray (7 pts.)
  • C: Olympiacos (10 pts.)
  • D: Manchester City (15 pts.)
  • E: Schalke (10 pts.)
  • F: Arsenal (12 pts.)
  • G: Zenit St. Peterburg (6 pts.)
  • F: Milan (9 pts.)

EUROPA LEAGUE - Round of 32

  • A: Shakhtar Donetsk (8 pts.)
  • B: Juventus (6 pts.)
  • C: Benfica (10 pts.)
  • D: Viktoria Plzen (3 pts.)
  • E: Basel (8 pts.)
  • F: Napoli (12 pts.)
  • G: Porto (5 pts.)
  • H: Ajax (8 pts.)