Wherein Roy Miller makes things worse on himself. Somehow.
Let’s quickly review everything that Roy Miller did wrong last week in a New York Red Bulls collapse in San Jose, when 10 mad minutes turned a potentially delightful road win for Mike Petke’s side into a dreadful loss, one that we are still talking about.
He committed a foul just outside the penalty area, supplying the Earthquakes with a wonderful set-piece opportunity.
His handball inside the penalty area gave San Jose the spot shot that turned into the winning goal.
The Costa Rican international encroached on Chris Wondolowski’s penalty kick, which Luis Robles saved. Miller’s silly, premature run into the 18 gave “Wondo” a second chance, which he finished with authority.
And now this, his inconceivable explanation:
Holy oblivion, batman!
Here’s the thing: If Wondolowski’s initial penalty kick was successful, referee Ricardo Salazar would have pointed to the center. Goal!
No referee would order a re-take in that situation. Thus, Miller’s action was even more senseless than it seemed.
Make a mistake is one thing. Making a couple of them is a trend indicator worth examination. But not knowing the laws of the game? As a professional, that is 100 percent inexcusable.