Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Which current Premier League bosses have matched wits the most?

Chelsea and USMNT star Christian Pulisic joins Rog to talk about the future of US Soccer, his hopes for the Blues and more.

Tuesday’s Premier League match-up between West Ham United and West Bromwich Albion did not yield a surprising result, as the top-half Irons dispatched the bottom-three Baggies 2-1 at the London Stadium.

Perhaps it should’ve been even less surprising given the wild record involving the managers.

[ MORE: PL investigating Snodgrass transfer agreement ]

The win for West Ham manager David Moyes was his seventh-straight against Baggies boss Sam Allardyce, and it’s not like we’re discussing an era of dominance between one club over another.

Jan. 19, 2021 - West Ham (Moyes) 2-1 West Brom (Allardyce)
May 13, 2018 - West Ham (Moyes) 3-1 Everton (Allardyce)
Feb. 4, 2017 - Crystal Palace (Allardyce) 0-4 Sunderland (Moyes)
March 22, 2014 - West Ham (Allardyce) 0-2 Man Utd (Moyes)
Dec. 21, 2013 - Man Utd (Moyes) 3-1 West Ham (Allardyce)
May 12, 2013 - Everton (Moyes) 2-0 West Ham (Allardyce)
Dec. 22, 2013 - West Ham (Allardyce) 1-2 Everton (Moyes)

Prior to that, Allardyce led Blackburn to a 1-0 win over Moyes’ Toffees to even their all-time series. That’s the last win for Big Sam versus Ol’ Moyesy, who has a 14W-3D-7L career record in the series dating back to their first meeting: Allardyce’s Bolton beating Moyes’ Preston North End 2-0 on Aug. 26, 2000.

It got us thinking, what current PL managerial series have been staged the most and are there any examples outside of, say, Burnley - Man City where there’s a real run of dominance?

An anomaly? Hardly, though arguably the most one-sided affair between managers not considered to be in monstrously opposite classes.

There’s some good trivia below.

Most meetings between active PL managers (in any competition)

1. David Moyes v Sam Allardyce (24): 14W-3D-7L

2 (t). Pep Guardiola v Jose Mourinho (22): 11W-6D-7L

Steve Bruce v Sam Allardyce (22): 7W-4D-7L

4 (t). David Moyes v Steve Bruce (20): 10W-7D-3L

Jurgen Klopp v Pep Guardiola (20): 9W-3D-8L

6. Jose Mourinho v David Moyes (15): 9W-6D-0L

7 (t). Pep Guardiola v Sean Dyche (12): 11W-1D-0L

Jose Mourinho v Sam Allardyce (12): 9W-3D-0L

Jose Mourinho v Steve Bruce (12): 9W-3D-0L

David Moyes v Roy Hodgson (12): 7W-2D-3L

Jurgen Klopp v Jose Mourinho (12): 6W-4D-2L

12 (t). Jose Mourinho v Sean Dyche (10): 6W-4D-0L

Roy Hodgson v Steve Bruce (10): 4W-4D-2L

David Moyes v Carlo Ancelotti (10): 4W-4D-2L

Follow @NicholasMendola