Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Tremont Waters commits to LSU

NCAA Basketball Tournament - Second Round - Virginia Commonwealth v Oklahoma

OKLAHOMA CITY, OK - MARCH 20: Head coach Will Wade of the Virginia Commonwealth Rams looks on in the first half against the Oklahoma Sooners during the second round of the 2016 NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament at Chesapeake Energy Arena on March 20, 2016 in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. (Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Tremont Waters ended his recruitment again on Monday afternoon.

The four-star point guard committed to LSU, according to Scout’s Evan Daniels. Waters had originally pledged to Georgetown and had signed his letter of intent. But he asked to be released from his commitment in mid-March, several weeks before head coach John Thompson III was relieved of his duties.

Waters had originally picked Georgetown over Indiana. The Hoyas and Hoosiers were still in contention when he reopened his recruitment while UConn was also reportedly in the mix.

With Brian Bowen committing to Louisville over the weekend and Waters picking LSU, every player in the Rivals 150 are off the board.

Waters’ decision also ensures that even more talent will join the SEC next season. Aside from Kentucky’s annual reload, Missouri brings in consensus top freshman Michael Porter Jr. along with Jeremiah Tillmon. Alabama has a five-man class headlined by two five-star guards Collin Sexton and John Petty. Arkansas, Mississippi State, Auburn, Texas A&M and Georgia all have at least one top-50 prospect joining their respective programs.

Waters is the third commit secured by new head coach Will Wade, who took over the program in March. He joins fellow four-star prospect Brandon Rachal, Galen Alexander, Mayan Kiir, and JUCO shooting guard Daryl Edwards in LSU’s incoming class.

A native of Connecticut, Waters wrapped up his prep career at Notre Dame High School. The 5-foot-11 floor general was rated No. 37 overall by Rivals in the Class of 2017.