Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

BBWAA awards finalists announced

Divisional Round - Milwaukee Brewers v Colorado Rockies - Game Three

DENVER, CO - OCTOBER 07: Christian Yelich #22 of the Milwaukee Brewers walks off the field after the second inning of Game Three of the National League Division Series at Coors Field on October 7, 2018 in Denver, Colorado. (Photo by Justin Edmonds/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Major League Baseball has announced the finalists for various awards given by the Baseball Writers Association of America. They are:

American League Rookie of the Year

  • 3B Miguel Andújar (Yankees)
  • P/DH Shohei Ohtani (Angels)
  • 2B Gleyber Torres (Yankees)

National League Rookie of the Year

  • OF Ronald Acuña, Jr. (Braves)
  • SP Walker Buehler (Dodgers)
  • OF Juan Soto (Nationals)

American League Manager of the Year

  • Kevin Cash (Rays)
  • Alex Cora (Red Sox)
  • Bob Melvin (Athletics)

National League Manager of the Year

  • Bud Black (Rockies)
  • Craig Counsell (Brewers)
  • Brian Snitker (Braves)

American League Cy Young

  • Corey Kluber (Indians)
  • Blake Snell (Rays)
  • Justin Verlander (Astros)

National League Cy Young

  • Jacob deGrom (Mets)
  • Aaron Nola (Phillies)
  • Max Scherzer (Nationals)

American League Most Valuable Player

  • Mookie Betts (Red Sox)
  • José Ramírez (Indians)
  • Mike Trout (Angels)

National League Most Valuable Player

  • Nolan Arenado (Rockies)
  • Javier Báez (Cubs)
  • Christian Yelich (Brewers)

The schedule for awards announcements:

  • Monday, Nov. 12: Rookies of the Year
  • Tuesday, Nov. 13: Managers of the Year
  • Wednesday, Nov. 14: Cy Youngs
  • Thursday, Nov. 15: MVPs

Remember that voting for these awards was completed before the start of the playoffs. So, for example, the Red Sox winning the World Series won’t impact Alex Cora’s chances of winning the AL Manager of the Year Award.

Follow @Baer_Bill