Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Cup drivers with most speeding penalties in 2017

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Bojangles' Southern 500

DARLINGTON, SC - SEPTEMBER 03: The #88 pit sign hangs over pit road prior to the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Bojangles’ Southern 500 at Darlington Raceway on September 3, 2017 in Darlington, South Carolina. (Photo by Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images)

Getty Images

In his final Cup season, Dale Earnhardt Jr. had a series-high eight speeding penalties on pit road.

Earnhardt was penalized for speeding on pit road at Atlanta, the spring Martinsville race, the spring Richmond race, the spring Kansas race, the spring Dover race, Sonoma, the second Pocono race and the second Talladega race.

Trevor Bayne, Kasey Kahne and Matt Kenseth were next with seven speeding penalties each. New Cup champ Martin Truex Jr. had four speeding penalties.

Last year, Denny Hamlin had the most speeding penalties with 10.
Here’s a look at drivers with the most speeding penalties in Cup this year.

8 — Dale Earnhardt Jr.

7 — Trevor Bayne

7 — Kasey Kahne

7 — Matt Kenseth

6 — Matt DiBenedetto

6 — Michael McDowell

6 — Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

5 — Aric Almirola

5 — Clint Bowyer

5 — Kyle Busch

5 — Derrike Cope

5 — Denny Hamlin

5 — Corey LaJoie

5 — Joey Logano

5 — Ryan Newman

5 — Reed Sorenson

4 — Austin Dillon

4 — Timmy Hill

4 — Brad Keselowski

4 — Martin Truex Jr.

Follow @dustinlong and on Facebook