Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Daytona Truck race results, driver points

The defending NASCAR Truck Series champion picked up right where he left off, as Zane Smith captured a hectic and rain-shortened season opener at Daytona -- and earned a spot in the Daytona 500.

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. -- Pesky rain finally forced an early end to Friday night’s Craftsman Truck Series race at Daytona International Speedway, and series champion Zane Smith got the win.

Weather that put a heavy mist over the speedway plagued the race much of the way, and NASCAR made it official at 11:12 p.m. ET with 21 of the 100 laps remaining. Smith held the lead.

Smith also won the series’ Daytona opener last year.

MORE: Daytona Truck results

MORE: Daytona Truck driver points