Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Joe Gibbs Racing, Stewart-Haas Racing each to acquire fourth charter

Teams have been lobbying NASCAR for several years to assign value to their teams with a charter system, essentially guaranteeing teams starting spots in every Sprint Cup race and revenue streams for financial stability.

Both Joe Gibbs Racing and Stewart-Haas Racing are expected to each acquire one of Michael Waltrip Racing’s charters.

Rob Kauffman, former co-owner of Michael Waltrip Racing, called it “very likely” Tuesday that JGR and Stewart-Haas will acquire one charter each from MWR.

That would mean that the teams of Carl Edwards and Kurt Busch would be guaranteed a starting spot in each points race.

NASCAR designated charters to teams that had run full seasons since 2013. The Joe Gibbs Racing team of Edwards and the Stewart-Haas Racing team of Busch were not eligible because both didn’t exist until after 2013. That would have meant they would not have been guaranteed one of the 36 spots in the 40-car field.

Michael Waltrip Racing had two charters but since the team is not competing anymore, those charters must be transferred.

Also, HScott Motorports confirmed Tuesday that it is in the process of leasing second charter from another team to ensure that Michael Annett is in every Sprint Cup points race this season. The charter will return to the other team after this season.



Hendrick Motorsports

Joe Gibbs Racing (once acquires MWR charter)

Stewart-Haas Racing (once acquires MWR charter)


Roush-Fenway Racing

Richard Childress Racing


Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates

Team Penske

Richard Petty Motorsports

Front Row Motorsports

BK Racing


Furniture Row Racing

JTG Daugherty Racing

Tommy Baldwin Racing

Germain Racing

HScott Motorsports

Premium Motorsports

Circle Sport-Leavine Family Racing

Go Fas Racing

Follow @dustinlong