Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Phoenix Xfinity starting lineup: Ty Gibbs wins pole

Championship 4 driver Ty Gibbs is on pole for the NASCAR Xfinity Series Championship race at Phoenix Raceway.

Championship challenger Ty Gibbs won the pole Saturday afternoon for Saturday night’s Xfinity Series championship race at Phoenix Raceway.

Gibbs, making his qualifying lap at the end of the session, turned a lap at 134.298 miles per hour.

The three other championship contenders qualified in the top 11 -- Noah Gragson fourth at 133.407, Josh Berry ninth at 132.675 and Justin Allgaier 11th at 132.528.

Saturday night’s championship race will start at 6 p.m. Coverage is on the USA Network.

MORE: Phoenix Xfinity starting lineup

MORE: Phoenix Xfinity qualifying results

Berry, Gragson and Allgaier race for JR Motorsports. Gibbs is a Joe Gibbs Racing entry.

Berry finished third in the March Xfinity race at Phoenix despite starting in the rear.

Gragson won the March race, leading 114 laps.

Gibbs has wins at Phoenix in ARCA and ARCA West races.

Phoenix has been one of Allgaier’s best tracks. He has 16 top-10 runs there. Over the years, Allgaier has finished in every position in the Xfinity point standings top seven except first.

Big Event Weekend[25]