Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Saturday Martinsville Xfinity race: Start time, TV info, weather

Jeff Burton and Nate Ryan discuss significant penalties, an owners meeting that didn't happen, and angry drivers in the garage, as Burton describes why NASCAR needs more clarity for its rules, penalties, and appeals.

Martinsville Speedway will host the eighth race of the NASCAR Xfinity Series season Saturday, and it’s not unrealistic to expect some fireworks.

Both Martinsville Xfinity races last season were won with last-lap passes, and both saw some disgruntled drivers afterward.

In April last year, Sam Mayer and Ty Gibbs made contact on the last lap while racing for second. They fought on pit road after the race, which was won by Brandon Jones.

MORE: Chase Elliott discusses injury, recovery and return at Martinsville

In October, Gibbs wrecked his then-teammate Jones on the last lap to take the race win. In the aftermath, Austin Hill punched Myatt Snider.

Here are details for Saturday’s race:

Details for Saturday’s Xfinity race at Martinsville Speedway

(All times Eastern)

START: The command to start engines will be given at 7:38 p.m. ... The green flag is scheduled to wave at 7:47 p.m.

PRERACE: Xfinity garage opens at 4 p.m. ... Driver introductions begin at 7 p.m. ... The invocation will be given by Charles Whitfield, senior pastor, First Baptist Church East Martinsville. ... The national anthem will be performed by the Virginia Military Institute Glee Club at 7:31 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is 250 laps (131 miles) on the half-mile track.

STAGES: Stage 1 ends at Lap 60. Stage 2 ends at Lap 120.

STARTING LINEUP: Martinsville Xfinity starting lineup

TV/RADIO: FS1 will broadcast the race at 7:30 p.m. ... NASCAR RaceDay airs at 7 p.m. on FS1. ... Motor Racing Network coverage begins at 7 p.m. and can be heard at ... SiriusXN NASCAR Radio will carry the MRN broadcast.

FORECAST: Weather Underground -- Partly cloudy with a high of 71 degrees and a 1% chance of rain at the start of the race.

LAST TIME: Ty Gibbs won last October’s Xfinity race at Martinsville, wrecking then-teammate Brandon Jones for the lead on the last lap. Gibbs was followed by Sheldon Creed and Riley Herbst.