Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Buccaneers announce 14 undrafted rookie deals

Ryan Baker Pic

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers on Monday announced that they have finalized contract agreements with 14 undrafted rookies. The players signed are as follows:

Louisiana-Monroe receiver Luther Ambrose, LSU linebacker Ryan Baker, Cincinnati quarterback Zach Collaros, South Florida center Chaz Hine, Texas fullback Cody Johnson, Iowa State cornerback Leonard Johnson, Tennessee State defensive tackle Donte’e Nicholls, Boise State receiver Tyler Shoemaker, Ole Miss tackle Bradley Sowell, Arkansas safety Tramain Thomas, West Virginia tight end Tyler Urban, Toledo guard Mike VanDerMeulen, South Florida cornerback Quenton Washington, and Rutgers guard/tackle Desmond Wynn.

Erroneous reports late Saturday and on Sunday indicated that the Buccaneers also did a deal with former LSU quarterback Jordan Jefferson. That is not the case. As the New Orleans Times-Picayune explains, Jefferson was only invited to the Bucs’ rookie minicamp, perhaps as a “favor” tryout because some former LSU coaches are now on the Buccaneers’ staff.

As Florio previously pointed out, it’s smart to be wary of unreliable Twitter and website “reports” of UDFA signings. This has been a big problem in the past.

Pictured is Jefferson’s college teammate, Ryan Baker, who unlike Jefferson actually was offered a contract by the Buccaneers, and signed it. Baker was a two-year starter at weak-side linebacker for LSU, earning second-team All-SEC honors from the conference’s coaches as a senior.