Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Seahawks say they recovered a fumble that refs gave to Packers

Seattle Seahawks head coach Pete Carroll argues a call during the first half of an NFL football game against the Green Bay Packers Sunday, Sept. 20, 2015, in Green Bay, Wis. (AP Photo/Jeffrey Phelps)


The Seahawks believe the officials blew a crucial call in the fourth quarter of Sunday night’s loss to the Packers.

According to the Seahawks, Seattle offensive tackle Justin Britt recovered Packers linebacker Jayrone Elliott’s fumble after Elliott intercepted Russell Wilson with seven minutes left in the game. But although Britt emerged from the pile with the ball, the officials ruled that the Packers had the ball. Pete Carroll said afterward that the officials got it wrong.

“They declared that they [the Packers] had the ball,” Carroll said, via ESPN. “Well, they didn’t. They didn’t point it out. ...There’s a lot of things that happened in this game. That play in particular because it’s such a big deal to us to take care of the ball and get it. Justin did a great job to get that ball back.”

Britt said that he and Elliott both had a hand on the ball when they went to the ground, but Britt insists that he’s the one who got it.

“Me and him kind of reached for it at the same time, and then all I know is he tried to pull it into him,” Britt said. “Then I pulled the tip and pulled it away. I walked away with it. Explain to me how that’s their ball.”

That’s an explanation a lot of people in Seattle would like.