Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Welcome to the (largely replacement) Pro Bowl

Cam Newton, Aureana Tseu

Carolina Panthers quarterback Cam Newton, right, chats with Hawaiian model Aureana Tseu during a photo session of the NFC Pro Bowl football team, Friday, Jan. 27, 2012 in Kapolei, Hawaii. (AP Photo/Marco Garcia)


Sunday’s Pro Bowl features the best of the NFL’s best.

Unless it doesn’t.

While some degree of attrition is expected, the current rate is kind of ridiculous.

Of the 86 players initially named to the game, we’re already at 36 replacements and counting.

A total of 14 players left because they’re involved in the Super Bowl (10 Panthers and four Broncos), but at the moment, another 22 players have backed out because of injuries or personal reasons.

The game was already a sham, but the diaspora at certain glamour positions make it even more so now. Five of the six quarterbacks originally picked are out, as are five of the six initial picks at outside linebacker. All three free safeties have been replaced as well, along with three cornerbacks and three wide receivers.

So have fun with that, and enjoy this list (which we’ll update with the inevitable future replacements):

2016 Pro Bowlers

Tom Brady, New England (replaced by Jameis Winston, Tampa Bay)
Cam Newton, Carolina (replaced by Tyrod Taylor, Buffalo)
Carson Palmer, Arizona (replaced by Teddy Bridgewater, Minnesota)
Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay (replaced by Derek Carr, Oakland)
Ben Roethlisberger, Pittsburgh (replaced by Eli Manning, New York Giants)
Russell Wilson, Seattle

Adrian Peterson, Minnesota
Devonta Freeman, Atlanta
Jonathan Stewart, Carolina (replaced by Latavius Murray, Oakland)
Todd Gurley, St. Louis
Doug Martin, Tampa Bay
LeSean McCoy, Buffalo (replaced by Chris Ivory, New York Jets)

Marcel Reece, Oakland
Mike Tolbert, Carolina (replaced by Patrick DiMarco, Atlanta).

Tyler Eifert, Cincinnati
Rob Gronkowski, New England (replaced by Gary Barnidge, Cleveland)
Travis Kelce, Kansas City
Greg Olsen, Carolina (replaced by Delanie Walker, Tennessee)

Odell Beckham, Jr., New York Giants
Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh
Larry Fitzgerald, Arizona (replaced by T.Y. Hilton, Indianapolis)
A.J. Green, Cincinnati
DeAndre Hopkins, Houston
Calvin Johnson, Detroit (replaced by Allen Robinson, Jacksonville)
Julio Jones, Atlanta
Brandon Marshall, New York Jets (replaced by Amari Cooper, Oakland)

Tyron Smith, Dallas
Joe Staley, San Francisco
Joe Thomas, Cleveland
Andrew Whitworth, Cincinnati
Trent Williams, Washington
Jason Peters, Philadelphia (replaced by Kyle Long, Chicago)

David DeCastro, Pittsburgh
Mike Iupati, Arizona (replaced by Richie Incognito, Buffalo)
Josh Sitton, Green Bay
Trai Turner, Carolina (replaced by Logan Mankins, Tampa Bay)
Marshal Yanda, Baltimore
Zack Martin, Dallas

Travis Frederick, Dallas
Ryan Kalil, Carolina (replaced by Eric Wood, Buffalo)
Mike Pouncey, Miami
Alex Mack, Cleveland

Ezekiel Ansah, Detroit
Michael Bennett, Seattle
Chandler Jones, New England
Khalil Mack, Oakland
J.J. Watt, Houston
Muhammad Wilkerson, New York Jets (replaced by Carlos Dunlap, Cincinnati)

Geno Atkins, Cincinnati
Calais Campbell, Arizona
Fletcher Cox, Philadelphia
Aaron Donald, St. Louis
Gerald McCoy, Tampa Bay
Kawann Short, Carolina (replaced by Jurrell Casey, Tennessee)

Navorro Bowman, San Francisco
Luke Kuechly, Carolina (replaced by Derrick Johnson, Kansas City)
Clay Matthews, Green Bay
Bobby Wagner, Seattle

Jamie Collins, New England (replaced by Anthony Barr, Minnesota)
Thomas Davis, Carolina (replaced by Elvis Dumervil, Baltimore)
Tamba Hali, Kansas City
Justin Houston, Kansas City (replaced by Sean Lee, Dallas)
Von Miller, Denver (replaced by Julius Peppers, Green Bay)
DeMarcus Ware, Denver (replaced by Lavonte David, Tampa Bay)

Chris Harris, Jr., Denver (replaced by Vontae Davis, Indianapolis)
Josh Norman, Carolina (replaced by Desmond Trufant, Atlanta)
Marcus Peters, Kansas City
Patrick Peterson, Arizona (replaced by Adam Jones, Cincinnati)
Darrelle Revis, New York Jets
Richard Sherman, Seattle
Aqib Talib, Denver (replaced by Brent Grimes, Miami)
Malcolm Butler, New England (replaced by Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie, New York Giants)

Tyrann Mathieu, Arizona (replaced by Malcolm Jenkins, Philadelphia)
Reggie Nelson, Cincinnati (replaced by Reshad Jones, Miami)
Earl Thomas, Seattle (replaced by Harrison Smith, Minnesota)

Eric Berry, Kansas City
Kam Chancellor, Seattle (replaced by Mike Adams, Indianapolis)
Charles Woodson, Oakland

Sam Koch, Baltimore
Johnny Hekker, St. Louis

Tyler Lockett, Seattle
Darren Sproles, Philadelphia

Dan Bailey, Dallas
Stephen Gostkowski, New England (replaced by Josh Brown, New York Giants)

Justin Bethel, Arizona
Matthew Slater, New England (replaced by Cedric Peerman, Cincinnati)