Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

2023 Ironman World Championships Results

VinFast IRONMAN World Championship

KAILUA KONA, HAWAII - OCTOBER 14: Lucy Charles-Barclay of Great Britain crosses the finish line to win the VinFast IRONMAN World Championship on October 14, 2023 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii. (Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images for IRONMAN)

Getty Images for IRONMAN

2023 Ironman World Championship results from Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, (women on Oct. 14) and Nice, France, (men on Sept. 10). Full, searchable women’s results are here. Full, searchable men’s results are here.

1. Lucy Charles-Barclay (GBR) — 8:24:31 CR
2. Anne Haug (GER) — 8:27:33
3. Laura Philipp (GER) — 8:32:55
4. Taylor Knibb (USA) — 8:35:56
5. Daniela Ryf (SUI) — 8:40:34
6. Chelsea Sodaro (USA) — 8:42:25
7. Skye Moench (USA) -- 8:43:34
8. Sarah True (USA) — 8:47:06
9. Lisa Norden (SWE) — 8:49:36
10. Jocelyn McCauley (USA) — 8:50:39

Charles-Barclay, 30, won her first Ironman world title — wire to wire and in a course record time — after finishing runner-up four of the previous five editions.

She led after the 2.4-mile swim and the 112-mile bike, then pulled away from U.S. Olympic triathlon relay silver medalist Knibb on the 26.2-mile run to prevail comfortably.

Knibb, bidding to become the first U.S. Olympic medalist to win an Ironman world title, was passed by 40-year-old Haug of Germany, the 2019 champion, at the 18-mile mark of the run.

Haug ran the fastest women’s marathon in Ironman Kona history, a 2:48:23. Philipp then knocked Knibb of the podium.

Knibb made her Ironman distance debut two months after all but clinching a 2024 Olympic triathlon spot.

Ryf, 36 years old and a five-time world champion, may have raced Kona for the last time.

Last year, Sodaro became the first American man or woman to win in 20 years.

1. Sam Laidlow (FRA) — 8:06:22
2. Patrick Lange (GER) — 8:10:17
3. Magnus Ditlev (DEN) — 8:11:43
4. Rudy von Berg (USA) — 8:12:57
5. Leon Chevalier (FRA) — 8:15:07
6. Arthur Horseau (FRA) — 8:18:36
7. Bradley Weiss (RSA) — 8:20:54
8. Gregory Barnaby (ITA) — 8:21:15
9. Robert Wilkowiecki (POL) — 8:21:23
10. Clement Mignon (FRA) — 8:24:10
14. Cameron Wurf (AUS) — 8:30:42
24. Jan Frodeno (GER) — 8:48:42

Laidlow, last year’s runner-up, became at 24 years old the youngest men’s world champion, breaking the record set by American Scott Tinley in 1982 (25 years).

Laidlow became the first French man or woman to win an Ironman world title and the 10th consecutive European man to win.

Frodeno, 42 and a three-time world champ, announced beforehand that it will be his final Ironman World Championship. Frodeno won the 2008 Olympic triathlon (32 miles) before moving up to the Ironman distance (140.7 miles) and becoming the first person to pair Olympic and Ironman world titles.

Norwegians Gustav Iden and Kristian Blummenfelt, who won the last two world titles, did not compete in Nice. They are expected to move down in distance for the 2024 Olympic triathlon. Blummenfelt won Tokyo Olympic gold.