Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Olympic champions on BBC Sports Personality of the Year shortlist

Mo Farah

Jennifer Saunders meets fans and signs copies of her book ‘Bonkers: My Life In Laughs’ at Selfridges on October 8, 2013 in London, England.

Danny Martindale

Nearly every major sports nation awards Athlete of the Year honors.

In most, they go to Olympic sports athletes. In the U.S., they usually do not.

You’d be hard-pressed to find annual awards more publicized and celebrated than in Great Britain for the BBC Sports Personality of the Year.

The broadcaster announced its shortlist for its 2013 awards on Tuesday.

Here are the nominees:

Ben Ainslie, sailing -- Olympic champion was tactician for Oracle Team USA’s America’s Cup victory
Ian Bell, cricket -- starred for England in Ashes series win
Hannah Cockcroft, wheelchair sprinter -- two-time IPC Athletics World Championships gold medalist
Mo Farah, track and field -- swept 5000m, 10,000m at World Championships
Chris Froome, cycling -- Tour de France winner
Leigh Halfpenny, rugby -- Player of the Series in British and Irish Lions tour of Australia
A.P. McCoy, horse racing -- Notched 4,000th career winner
Andy Murray, tennis -- Ended Great Britain’s 77-year Wimbledon men’s drought
Christine Ohuruogu
, track and field -- 400m world champion
Justin Rose
, golf -- U.S. Open winner

The obvious favorite is Murray, who also won the 2012 Olympic men’s singles gold medal at Wimbledon.

The last two winners were Olympic cyclists -- Bradley Wiggins and Mark Cavendish. Other past winners include soccer stars Ryan Giggs and David Beckham, rower Steve Redgrave, track and field stars Seb Coe, Daley Thompson and Paul Radcliffe and figure skaters Jayne Torvill and Christopher Dean.

The 60th BBC Sports Personality of the Year will be announced on Dec. 15 after public voting.

Andy Murray details 2012 Olympics in autobiography excerpt

Follow @nzaccardi