Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Dutch speedskaters win seventh Sochi gold in men’s team pursuit

Sochi Olympics Speedskating Men

Speedskaters from team Netherlands, from left to right, Koen Verweij, Jan Blokhuijsen, and Sven Kramer compete in the men’s speedskating team pursuit quarterfinals at the Adler Arena Skating Center during the 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi, Russia, Friday, Feb. 21, 2014. (AP Photo/Matt Dunham)

Matt Dunham

More gold for the Oranje.

10,000m winner Jorrit Bergsma’s boycott had no effect whatsoever on the Dutch’s men’s team pursuit trio of Sven Kramer, Koen Verweij, and Jan Blokhuijsen, who set an Olympic record time of 3:37.71 to give the Netherlands their seventh speedskating gold medal and 22nd speedskating medal altogether in Sochi.

Korea’s team of Joo Hyong-Jun, Kim Cheol-Min, and Lee Seung-Hoon gave the Dutch a surprising challenge early in the race, pulling within .05 of a second with five laps to go.

But Kramer, Verweij, and Blokhuijsen proceeded to pull away in the closing circuits and wound up taking the race by 3.14 seconds.

In the B Final that determined the bronze medal, Poland’s team of Zbigniew Brodka, Konrad Niedzwiedzki, and Jan Szymanski came from behind late to defeat Canada’s Mathieu Giroux, Lucas Makowsky, and Denny Morrison by 2.33 seconds.

MORE: South Korea protests Adelina Sotnikova’s win in figure skating

1. Netherlands, 3:37.71 - OR

2. Korea, 3:40.85
3. Poland, 3:41.94

Follow @estradawriting