Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Preview: Men’s ski jumpers ready to soar

FIS Nordic Combined World Cup - Men's Ski Jumping HS138

LILLEHAMMER, NORWAY - DECEMBER 07: Gregor Schlierenzauer of Austria takes 1st place during the FIS Ski Jumping World Cup Men’s HS138 on December 7, 2013 in Lillehammer, Norway. (Photo by Ragnar Singsaas/Getty Images)

Ragnar Singsaas

Saturday - Normal hill qualification, 11:30 a.m. ET
Sunday - Normal hill first round, 12:30 p.m. ET; Final round, 1:30 p.m. ET
Feb. 14 - Large hill qualification, 12:30 p.m. ET
Feb. 15 - Large hill first round, 12:30 p.m. ET; Final round, 1:30 p.m. ET

Feb. 17 - Large hill first round, 12:15 p.m. ET; Final round, 1:15 p.m. ET

Saturday - Normal hill, 2:30-6 p.m. ET, NBC
Sunday - Normal hill medal event, LIVE at 1 p.m. ET on NBCSN (also on NBC’s primetime coverage starting at 7 p.m. ET)
Feb. 14 - Large hill, 2:15 p.m. ET on NBCSN (also on NBC’s late night coverage starting at 12:05 a.m. ET)
Feb. 15 - Large hill medal event, 8-11:30 p.m. ET, NBC
Feb. 17 - Team large hill medal event, LIVE at 1:30 p.m. ET on NBCSN (also on NBC’s primetime coverage starting at 8 p.m. ET)

MORE: The five key storylines in men’s ski jumping at the Sochi Games

The American men have gone without an Olympic ski jumping medal since the very first Winter Games at Chamonix in 1924. In fact, not one has cracked the Top 10 in an Olympic ski jumping event since the 1988 Calgary Winter Games. First-time Olympian Nick Fairall hopes to continue the momentum from his Olympic Trials win, but neither he or his teammates - Nick Alexander, Peter Frenette, and Anders Johnson - are expected to push for a medal.

The best in the sport continue to come from Europe. World Cup ski jumping legend Gregor Schlierenzauer (pictured) of Austria is looking to fill a hole still left on his resume: An individual Olympic gold. Switzerland’s Simon Ammann is back to defend his double golds from Vancouver. And another Austrian, three-time Olympic champion Thomas Morgenstern, is ready to return to action after a devastating crash in January. Other contenders include Poland’s Kamil Stoch, Norway’s Anders Bardal, and Slovenia’s Peter Prevc; Stoch and Bardal are reigning world champions and Prevc leads the World Cup standings.

Follow @estradawriting