Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
View All Scores

Latest rule change allows accidental handball before teammate scores

Fulham had to swallow a bitter defeat to Tottenham after Josh Maja's equalizer was taken off the board for a controversial handball.

LONDON -- Accidental handball in the buildup to a teammate scoring will no longer lead to the goal being ruled out, soccer’s lawmakers decided in a rule change on Friday (FULL DETAILS HERE).

[ MORE: Liverpool’s woes explained by drastic change in open play goals/xG ]
The move by the International Football Association Board follows irritation in the game about how goals seem to be harshly ruled out.

“Accidental handball that leads to a teammate scoring a goal or having a goal-scoring opportunity will no longer be considered an offense,” IFAB said in a statement after a virtual meeting.

[ MORE: Klopp: Loss to Chelsea “a massive blow” to Champions League aims ]
Referees are being urged to “use their judgment” when assessing the position of hands and arms when a ball hits them.

“As the interpretation of handball incidents has not always been consistent due to incorrect applications of the law, the members confirmed that not every touch of a player’s hand/arm with the ball is an offense,” IFAB said.

[ MORE: Mourinho: Dele earned start, Spurs’ depth set to be tested ]
Changes to the laws of the game take effect from July 1, although IFAB said competitions have the flexibility to introduce them sooner.

IFAB also opened the door to the use of five substitutes being extended through the 2022 World Cup. The congested calendar due to the pandemic saw competitions last year permitted to give teams two additional substitutions in matches. That currently runs through July 2022 for national team competitions but IFAB said it will “remain under review.”