Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
View All Scores

Manchester City are 2017-18 Premier League champions

Manchester City clinch the 2017-2018 Premier League title with a Manchester United loss to West Brom.

Manchester City have been crowned Premier League champions for the 2017/18 season as Pep Guardiola’s side were handed the crown following Manchester United’s shock home defeat against West Brom on Sunday.

Guardiola’s men secured their third PL trophy with five games of the season to go and this league title is City’s fifth in club history.

They’ve now won three of the last seven PL titles available.

MORE: Ranking each Man City player out of 10
MORE: Jose Mourinho reacts to City’s title
MORE: Twitter reaction to title win

There’s no doubting how special City’s first PL title was after a 44-year wait to become Champions of England again, and especially the way they won it on the final day of the season with two late goals to deny rivals United winning the title in 2011/12.

But Guardiola’s project has delivered one of the most entertaining teams in history this season, as they’re on course to set new records for wins, goals scored and points.

Kevin de Bruyne, Leroy Sane and Raheem Sterling have been particularly excellent, while the likes of Vincent Kompany, David Silva and Sergio Aguero have reinvented themselves under Guardiola’s guidance, plus new arrivals Kyle Walker and Ederson have been inspired signings and tightened up City’s previously leaky defense.

City’s main quest in the final weeks of the season will be to break the records for the most points, wins and goals in a single PL season to hammer home their dominance.

Pep Guardiola’s side are expected to lift the Premier League trophy and be given their winners medals in their final home game of the season against Huddersfield Town on May 6.

Follow @JPW_NBCSports