Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

For the fourth time in modern NCAA tournament history, no No. 12 seeds win

Shannon Evans

AP Photo


The first two days of the 2015 NCAA Tournament will be remembered for the upsets that did happen, like No. 14 seeds UAB and Georgia State sending Big 12 powers Iowa State and Baylor home early.

But ironically enough, your bracket may end up being busted more by the upsets that didn’t happen. Namely, the “lock” 12-5 upsets.

For the first time since 2007, the NCAA tournament will come and go without a single No. 12 seed winning a game. Wofford and Stephen F. Austin lost grinders to Arkansas and Utah, respectively, on Thursday, while Northern Iowa blew out Wyoming and West Virginia hung on to beat Bobby Hurley’s Buffalo team on Friday.

Since the bracket expanded to 64 teams in 1985, there have been just four years where this happened: 1988, 2000, 2007 and now, 2015.

We have had a 14-3 upset in each of the three tournaments, which begs the question: Is a No. 14 seed the new No. 12 seed?