Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Jalen Brunson, Villanova win big at 2018 College Basketball Awards

Michigan v Villanova

SAN ANTONIO, TX - APRIL 02: Head coach Jay Wright of the Villanova Wildcats celebrates with Jalen Brunson #1 late in the second half against the Michigan Wolverines during the 2018 NCAA Men’s Final Four National Championship game at the Alamodome on April 2, 2018 in San Antonio, Texas. (Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images)

Getty Images

College basketball handed out its most prestigious individual awards on Friday night as the national champion Villanova Wildcats cleaned up during the proceedings.

Junior point guard Jalen Brunson was given the Wooden Award on the men’s side while also capturing the Bob Cousy Award as the nation’s top lead guard. Mikal Bridges (Julius Erving) and Jay Wright (John R. Wooden Legends of Coaching) also won awards on Friday night.

Seton Hall senior Angel Delgado (Kareem Abdul-Jabbar), Arizona freshman Deandre Ayton (Karl Malone) and Carsen Edwards (Jerry West) were also winners.

South Carolina senior A’ja Wilson won the Wooden Award on the women’s side after a dominating season in the SEC.

Here is the full list of men’s winners:

Bob Cousy Award (Point Guard) -- Jalen Brunson, Villanova
Jerry West Award (Shooting Guard) -- Carsen Edwards, Purdue
Julius Erving Award (Small Forward) -- Mikal Bridges, Villanova
Karl Malone Award (Power Forward) -- Deandre Ayton, Arizona
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award (Center) -- Angel Delgado, Seton Hall
John R. Wooden Legends of Coaching Award -- Jay Wright, Villanova