Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
View All Scores

2017 Gold Glove Award finalists announced

Divisional Round - New York Yankees v Cleveland Indians - Game One

CLEVELAND, OH - OCTOBER 05: Francisco Lindor #12 of the Cleveland Indians fields the ball during the fifth inning against the New York Yankees during game one of the American League Division Series at Progressive Field on October 5, 2017 in Cleveland, Ohio. (Photo by Jason Miller/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Major League Baseball has announced the finalists for each position in each league for the 2017 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards. Here they are:


  • AL: Chris Sale (Red Sox), Marcus Stroman (Blue Jays), Alex Cobb (Rays)
  • NL: R.A. Dickey (Braves), Zack Greinke (Diamondbacks), Zach Davies (Brewers)


  • AL: Yan Gomes (Indians), Martin Maldonado (Angels), Salvador Perez (Royals)
  • NL: Buster Posey (Giants), Yadier Molina (Cardinals), Tucker Barnhart (Reds)

First basemen

  • AL: Carlos Santana (Indians), Eric Hosmer (Royals), Mitch Moreland (Red Sox)
  • NL: Joey Votto (Reds), Paul Goldschmidt (Diamondbacks), Anthony Rizzo (Cubs)

Second basemen

  • AL: Brian Dozier (Twins), Ian Kinsler (Tigers), Dustin Pedroia (Red Sox)
  • NL: D.J. LeMahieu (Rockies), Dee Gordon (Marlins), Ben Zobrist (Cubs)

Third basemen

  • AL: Manny Machado (Orioles), Jose Ramirez (Indians), Evan Longoria (Rays)
  • NL: Nolan Arenado (Rockies), Anthony Rendon (Nationals), David Freese (Pirates)


  • AL: Elvis Andrus (Rangers), Andrelton Simmons (Angels), Francisco Lindor (Indians)
  • NL: Freddy Galvis (Phillies), Brandon Crawford (Giants), Corey Seager (Dodgers)

Left fielders

  • AL: Brett Gardner (Yankees), Alex Gordon (Royals), Justin Upton (Angels)
  • NL: Gerardo Parra (Rockies), Adam Duvall (Reds), Marcell Ozuna (Marlins)

Center fielders

  • AL: Lorenzo Cain (Royals), Kevin Pillar (Blue Jays), Byron Buxton (Twins)
  • NL: Billy Hamilton (Reds), Michael A. Taylor (Nationals), Ender Inciarte (Braves)

Right fielders

  • AL: Kole Calhoun (Angels), Mookie Betts (Red Sox), Aaron Judge (Yankees)
  • NL: Yasiel Puig (Dodgers), Giancarlo Stanton (Marlins), Jason Heyward (Cubs)

The first thing that stands out to me is Zobrist as a finalist for second base. He played there more than any other position, sure, but he only logged 541 2/3 defensive innings there total this season. Comparatively, Gordon logged 1,293 1/3 innings and LeMahieu 1,302. Of course, this reminds me of when Rafael Palmeiro won a Gold Glove at first base in 1999 when he played 128 games as a DH and only 28 games (246 1/3 innings) as a first baseman.

If you’re wondering why Rays center fielder Kevin Kiermaier wasn’t listed, it’s because he wasn’t eligible, as Marc Topkin of the Tampa Bay times points out. Kiermaier played in 98 games and accrued 829 2/3 defensive innings. To be eligible, an outfielder must have played for at least 698 innings through his team’s 138th game. Kiermaier missed time between June 9 and August 17, his team’s 63-123 games.

It was surprising to see Jose Iglesias omitted from shortstops on the American League side. I don’t think he would’ve won over Simmons, but he’s more deserving of a top-three mention than Andrus in my opinion.

As a Phillies fan, I was happy to see Galvis get a nod, though Baseball Reference’s defensive metrics weren’t kind to him. It’s been a treat to watch him 162 games a year. He most likely opens next season up in a different uniform. Some day, though, he’ll win a Gold Glove, even if it’s not this year.

Gold Glove winners will be announced on ESPN on November 7. The Rawlings Platinum Glove Award will be presented on November 10.

Follow @Baer_Bill