Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Second season of IndyCar iRacing Challenge starting March 18 at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve

IndyCar iRacing Challenge Montreal

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA - MAY 02: (EDITORIAL USE ONLY) (Editors note: This image was computer generated in-game) Graham Rahal, driver of the #15 United Rentals Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda, races during the IndyCar iRacing Challenge First Responder 175 at virtual Indianapolis Motor Speedway on May 02, 2020 in Indianapolis, Indiana. (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)

Getty Images

IndyCar will hold its second season of the iRacing Challenge starting March 18 at the virtual Circuit Gilles Villeneuve road course in Montreal.

The simulation racing series, which started last year during the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic break, will be a three-race lead-in to the NTT IndyCar Series “real-life” season opener April 18 at Barber Motorsports Park on NBC.

The races will be streamed on, the IndyCar and iRacing YouTube channels and the IndyCar Facebook page. Drivers likely will be streaming on their own Twitch channels as well in a feature that proved extraordinarily popular last year. Live streaming for each event will begin at 6:30 p.m. ET.

SENSE OF URGENCY: Ryan Hunter-Reay in business as usual mode with one-year deal

BANJOS AND SPEED: Jimmie Johnson opens up on his IndyCar move to the Avett Brothers

“The first season of the IndyCar iRacing Challenge definitely filled a competitive void that our drivers were missing last spring,” IndyCar vice president of marketing SJ Luedtke said in a release. “It captured many entertaining moments and helped set the stage for the return to competition on the track in real life. Season 2 will undoubtedly double down on those fun, colorful moments highlighting the personalities of our athletes and get our fans ready for the green flag on our 2021 season in Birmingham, Alabama.”

After the opener, the IndyCar iRacing Challenge will race March 25 on the Homestead-Miami Speedway oval and April 1 on a track chosen by fan voting March 12-15 via IndyCar social channels.

Conor Daly, who was a breakout star in iRacing last season, is among the IndyCar drivers slated to compete, along with two-time series champion Josef Newgarden, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Simon Pagenaud, Will Power, Takuma Sato, Felix Rosenqvist, Graham Rahal, Ed Carpenter, Pato O’Ward and Alex Palou.

SEASON 1 REVIEW: Highs and lows from the IndyCar iRacing Challenge last year

IndyCar rookies Scott McLaughlin, who won twice in the iRacing Challenge last year, and Romain Grosjean also will be competing in the iRacing Challenge. , both racing this season in INDYCAR.

Each race also will feature one entry from the Road to Indy Presented by Cooper tires ladder system. The Montreal entry list will be announced next week.