Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Greg Erwin returns as crew chief of Team Penske’s No. 22 Xfinity team

NASCAR XFINITY Series Food City 300

BRISTOL, TN - AUGUST 19: Brad Keselowski, driver of the #22 Discount Tire Ford, races during the NASCAR XFINITY Series Food City 300 at Bristol Motor Speedway on August 19, 2016 in Bristol, Tennessee. (Photo by Jerry Markland/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Team Penske has confirmed it has replaced Brian Wilson as the crew chief of its No. 22 Xfinity team with Greg Erwin, who previously held the role.

The swap, which first reported, comes after 22 races this season and with 11 left. The No. 22 team has struggled under the leadership of Wilson, who succeeded Erwin in 2016 as he moved into an overseeing role on the team. Driven by Brad Keselowski, Joey Logano, and Ryan Blaney, the No. 22 car has yet to win this season. It has not won since Keselowski went to victory lane at Texas Motor Speedway last November.

Team Penske won its first Xfinity race of the year at Watkins Glen with Logano driving the No. 12 car. That team was crew chiefed by Erwin, who led the No. 22 to seven wins in 2015. Erwin also has five Sprint Cup wins, all coming with Greg Biffle.

Wilson will stay with the team and crew chief the No. 12 when it’s run at Charlotte Motor Speedway later in the season.

The change was announced four days after the Xfinity night race at Bristol Motor Speedway. Keselowski led 67 laps before a fuel pickup issue ended his chance at a win under caution. Those laps were just the ninth time the No. 22 has led in 2016. It was only the third time Keselowski’s led in 11 starts this year.

Follow @DanielMcFadin