Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Kevin Harvick wins pole for GEICO 500 at Talladega

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series GEICO 500 - Practice

TALLADEGA, AL - APRIL 27: Kevin Harvick, driver of the #4 Busch Beer Flannel Ford, practices for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series GEICO 500 at Talladega Superspeedway on April 27, 2018 in Talladega, Alabama. (Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Kevin Harvick will start first in Sunday’s GEICO 500 at Talladega Superspeedway after winning his first pole of the year.

Harvick earned the pole with a speed of 194.448 mph. It is Harvick’s third pole at a restrictor-plate track and his first since 2005 (Talladega). It’s Stewart-Haas Racing’s first pole at Talladega.

Harvick has now won at least one pole in each of the last six years.

The top five is completed by Kurt Busch (194.082 mph), Martin Truex Jr. (193.525), Denny Hamlin (192.936) and Chase Elliott (192.754).

Elliott has started in the top 10 in all five of his Talladega starts

Paul Menard qualified 13th and was followed by Daniel Suarez, Darrell Wallace Jr., Jimmie Johnson and William Byron.

Kyle Busch, who is trying to win his fourth consecutive race, qualified 19th.

Timothy Peters will start 32nd in his Cup debut.

Aric Almirola will start last after his N0. 10 Ford spun following the conclusion of a very slow qualifying attempt in Round 1. It isn’t clear what caused Almirola’s issues.

Click here for qualifying results.