Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Three teams have car chiefs ejected at Daytona


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. - The cars of Chase Elliott, Austin Dillon and Ty Dillon each failed inspection twice before Daytona 500 qualifying Sunday at Daytona International Speedway.

Each team had its car chief ejected for the rest of the Speedweeks. They will not be allowed back at the track until after the Daytona 500. Each team also will lose 15 minutes of practice time this week.

All three cars passed on their third attempt.

The car chief for Austin Dillon’s team is Greg Ebert.

The car chief for Ty Dillon’s team is Billy Plourde.

The car chief for Elliott is Josh Kirk.