Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

The Arena Football League is back

Recently, NFL Network announced a deal to televise the games of “Arena Football 1,” the new version of the now-defunct Arena Football League.

Earlier today, however, “Arena Football 1" apparently re-became the Arena Football League.

In a media alert regarding a Wednesday conference call, it was declared that “the Arena Football League is back.”

Commission Jerry Kurz will speak at that time regarding the 15-team league, which will include teams of the prior Arena Football League like the Tampa Bay Storm, the Arizona Rattlers, and the Chicago Rush.

Also participating in the call will be Rush co-owner Mike Ditka, Cleveland Gladiators president and co-owner Bernie Kosar, Rattlers president Danny White, Rush coach Mike Hohensee, and Storm coach Tim Marcum.

Kurz will discuss details regarding the comeback of the AFL, plans for the upcoming season, and expansion objectives for 2011.

Several NFL owners had full or partial stakes in AFL teams; it’s unknown whether any of them will be reinvesting in the new league.