Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Have you noticed? All three Vezina finalists have been pretty average this season

Alex Chiasson, Mika Zibanejad, Tuukka Rask3

Ottawa Senators’ Alex Chiasson (90) and Mika Zibanejad (93) chase a loose puck behind Boston Bruins goalie Tuukka Rask during the first period of an NHL hockey game in Boston, Saturday, Dec. 13, 2014. (AP Photo/Winslow Townson)


Barring a dramatic turnaround, we’ll not only have a new Vezina Trophy winner in 2015, we’ll have three new finalists.

If you’ll recall, the finalists for last season were Colorado’s Semyon Varlamov, Tampa Bay’s Ben Bishop, and eventual winner Tuukka Rask of Boston, thanks in large part to save percentages of .927, .924, and .930, respectively.

This season, however, those save percentages are .911, .911, and .911, respectively. (Yep, all three are the same.)

In a related story, the Avalanche and Bruins are currently on the outside of the playoff picture after winning their divisions last season, while the Lightning are fortunate to have the league’s top offense to outscore their 22nd-ranked team save percentage.

According to online bookmaker Bovada, Pekka Rinne (3/2), Carey Price (7/2), and Marc-Andre Fleury (7/2) are the favorites to win the Vezina this season.

Related: A brief post on the unpredictable nature of goaltending