Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
View All Scores

CONCACAF President wants other countries to host Gold Cup


The United States has at least partially hosted the Gold Cup in every year since it’s inception in 1991, but that may not be for much longer.

Speaking from Mexico, CONCACAF president Jeffrey Webb told the Associated Press he is interested in spreading around the hosting duties of the event held every two years.

“I don’t think the Gold Cup should always be in one country,” Webb (pictured, left) said.

However, there are hurdles to making that decision a reality, as the United States brings FIFA the most income from the event.

“It’s the best tournament in the area and all members should be able to hold that prize. The decision to have it in the United States has been solely for financial reasons.”

The only Gold Cup matches held outside the United States were in 1993 and 2003, when the US and Mexico co-hosted the event.

Certainly the home-field advantage has helped the US squad in the event, winning five times in Gold Cup history, second to Mexico’s six. Mexico won both times the tournament was co-hosted by their country.

Webb also said he would love to see Mexico to play a full squad in the Copa America, CONMEBOL’s cup competition, but he would not allow it if it caused the Mexican team to send a weakened team to the Gold Cup.

“We have not made a decision on Copa America,” Webb said. “Of course we like our teams to play at the highest level because they grow. However, we do not support them sending a full team at the deterioration of our own competitions. Mexico is a symbol and we want them to send their best team to the Gold Cup.”

The United States and Mexico, along with four other CONCACAF teams, are scheduled to take part in a special 2016 edition of the Copa America to celebrate the 100th anniversary of CONMEBOL. The cup will be hosted by the United States that time.

Currently, there is an age restriction for the CONCACAF teams that is aimed at forcing the teams to play their best squad in the Gold Cup.