Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

80-1 longshot Rich Strike wins shocking 2022 Kentucky Derby

80-1 underdog Rich Strike shocks Churchill Downs by winning the 148th Kentucky Derby after only being in the race due to a scratch.

Rich Strike pulls off the upset of a lifetime to win the 148th Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs.

He set off as a massive 80-1 underdog and started the race near the back of the field. The three-year-old colt took advantage of the fast race pace and blasted off to the front of the pack at the end of the final stretch to cross the wire first.

He was initially not slated to start in the Kentucky Derby, but was in the field because of a scratch for Ethereal Road. Rich Strike’s win was also the second-biggest upset in Derby history.

This is trainer Eric Reed‘s first win at the Derby. In 2016, Reed lost 23 horses in a stable fire as well as valuable records, trophies and other racing memorabilia. Now, he is a Kentucky Derby winner.

“I fell down the paddock when he hit the wire,” Reed said.

Sonny Leon won his first Kentucky Derby. Leon grew up in Venezuela and is now a jockey to watch.

“I was on an 80-1 shot and nobody knew my horse, but I did,” Leon said in a press conference after the race. “I didn’t know if we could win, but I had a good feeling with him.”

Rich Strike paid $163.60 to win, $74.20 to place and $29.40 to show. Epicenter (4-1) paid $7.40 to place and $5.20 to show. Zandon (6-1) paid $5.60 to show.

Rich Strike is likely to be pointed to the Preakness Stakes next. The second leg of the Triple Crown sets off from Pimlico in two weeks on Saturday, May 21.

Full order of finish in the 2022 Kentucky Derby:

  1. Rich Strike
  2. Epicenter
  3. Zandon
  4. Simplification
  5. Mo Donegal
  6. Barber Road
  7. Tawny Port
  8. Smile Happy
  9. Tiz the Bomb
  10. Zozos
  11. Classic Causeway
  12. Taiba
  13. Crown Pride
  14. Happy Jack
  15. Messier
  16. White Abarrio
  17. Charge It
  18. Cyberknife
  19. Pioneer of Media
  20. Summer is Tomorrow
  21. Ethereal Road - DNP (SCR)

Watch the Preakness on Saturday, May 21 from 2 to 5 p.m. ET on NBCSN and from 5 to 7:15 p.m. ET on NBC. Coverage is also available on and on the NBC Sports app.