Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Bracketology: Delaware, Manhattan, Wofford punch tickets


A couple of quick notes about today’s bracket update:

We welcome Delaware, Manhattan, and Wofford as automatic qualifiers. Each punched its ticket Monday night. Unlike some bubble teams, they can rest easy in anticipation of the NCAA Selection Show on Sunday evening.

Brigham Young (BYU) survived in overtime to beat San Francisco in the semifinals of the West Coast Conference tournament. The Cougars face top-seeded Gonzaga in the championship game. A bubble team among the First Four participants, BYU could erase any doubt by capturing the WCC title. Otherwise, there will be some tense moments for the Cougars between now and Selection Sunday.

UPDATED: March 11, 2014

Teams in CAPS represent AUTOMATIC qualifiers. Exceptions are made for teams that typically use an abbreviation (such as UCLA, BYU, etc).

Several new bracketing principles were introduced after last year’s tournament. You can read them for yourself at For example: teams from the same conference may now meet before a Regional final, even if fewer than eight teams are selected. The goal is to keep as many teams as possible on their actual seed line.

FIRST FOUR PAIRINGS - Dayton (First Round)

  • Nebraska vs. Tennessee | Midwest Region
  • Xavier vs. BYU | South Region
  • Texas Southern vs. WOFFORD | East Region
  • Weber State vs. COASTAL CAROLINA | Midwest Region


SOUTH - MemphisWEST - Anaheim
OrlandoSan Diego
1) Florida1) Arizona
16) Robert Morris16) Utah Valley
8) Kansas State8) George Washington
9) Arizona State9) Gonzaga
SpokaneSan Diego
5) Ohio State5) Oklahoma
12) BYU / Xavier12) Toledo
4) Louisville4) Michigan State
13) S.F. Austin13) North Dakota State
BuffaloSan Antonio
6) New Mexico6) Baylor
11) Dayton11) Stanford
3) Syracuse3) Creighton
14) Boston University14) MERCER
7) VCU7) Memphis
10) SMU10) Saint Joseph’s
2) Wisconsin2) Virginia
15) UC-Irvine15) Stony Brook
EAST - New YorkMIDWEST - Indianapolis
BuffaloSt. Louis
1) Villanova1) WICHITA STATE
16) WOFFORD / Texas Southern16) Weber State / CO CAROLINA
8) Oklahoma State8) Kentucky
9) Iowa9) Oregon
5) North Carolina5) Texas
12) Louisiana Tech12) HARVARD
4) San Diego State4) Duke
San AntonioRaleigh
6) Massachusetts6) Saint Louis
11) Arkansas11) Tennessee / Nebraska
3) Iowa State3) Cincinnati
14) EASTERN KENTUCKY14) Georgia State
MilwaukeeSt. Louis
7) Connecticut7) UCLA
10) Colorado10) Pittsburgh
2) Michigan2) Kansas
15) Wright State15) NC-Central

NOTES on the BRACKET: Florida remains the overall No. 1 seed followed by Arizona, Wichita State, and Villanova.

Last Five teams in (at large): Stanford, Nebraska, Xavier, Tennessee, BYU

First Five teams out (at large): California, Georgetown, Minnesota, Missouri, St. John’s

Next five teams out (at large): Providence, Southern Miss, Green Bay, Florida State, Illinois

Breakdown by Conference ...

Big 12 (7): Kansas, Iowa State, Kansas State, Oklahoma, Texas, Baylor, Oklahoma State

Pac 12 (6): Arizona, UCLA, Stanford, Arizona State, Oregon, Colorado

Atlantic 10 (6): Massachusetts, VCU, Saint Louis, George Washington, Saint Joseph’s, Dayton

Big Ten (6): Michigan State, Michigan, Ohio State, Iowa, Wisconsin, Nebraska

ACC (5): Duke, Virginia, Syracuse, North Carolina, Pittsburgh

American (5): Louisville, Memphis, Connecticut, Cincinnati, SMU

SEC (4): Kentucky, Florida, Arkansas, Tennessee

Big East (3): Creighton, Villanova, Xavier

Mountain West (2): New Mexico, San Diego State

West Coast (2): Gonzaga, BYU

Missouri Valley (1): Wichita State

Conference Automatic Qualifiers ... Louisiana Tech (C-USA), EASTERN KENTUCKY (Ohio Valley), Georgia State (Sun Belt), Boston University (Patriot), North Dakota State (Summit), Wright State (Horizon), WOFFORD (Southern), Utah Valley (WAC), MANHATTAN (MAAC), Stephen F. Austin (Southland), Toledo (MAC), MERCER(A-Sun), HARVARD (IVY), UC-Irvine (Big West), DELAWARE (Colonial), Stony Brook (American East), Weber State (Big Sky), NC-Central (MEAC), COASTAL CAROLINA (Big South), Robert Morris (NEC), Texas Southern (SWAC)