Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
View All Scores

John Havlicek, Quinn Buckner, Charlie Scott among eight new inductees to College Basketball Hall of Fame

Bobby Knight, Scott May, Quinn Buckner

FILE - In this March 29, 1976, file photo, Indiana coach Bobby Knight, left, forward Scott May, center, and guard Quinn Buckner hold the trophy after defeating Michigan 86-68 to win the NCAA college basketball tournament championship in Philadelphia. Knight is selling his championship basketball rings and Olympic gold medal. A collection of the former coach’s memorabilia will be auctioned through Dec. 5, 2012, by Steiner Sports Memorabilia. (AP Photo, File)


The College Basketball Hall of Fame announced its 2015 class on Tuesday and includes eight new inductees. The Class of 2015 includes five players and three coaches and is headlined by Ohio State’s John Havlicek, Kansas State’s Rolando Blackman, Indiana’s Quinn Buckner, North Carolina’s Charlie Scott and Long Beach State’s Ed Ratleff.

Three coaches will also be inducted, including Dayton’s Don Donoher, Zip Gayles of Langston, Okla. and former New Mexico State and Illinois coach Lou Henson.

The class will be enshrined during the week of the CBE Classic festivities in Kansas City. The induction is Nov. 20 at the Midland Theater while the four-team CBE Classic is Nov. 23-24 at the Sprint Center. Kansas State, Missouri, North Carolina and Northwestern make up the four-team field for the 2015 game next fall.

Havlicek was a two-time All-American and NCAA champion at Ohio State in 1960. Blackmon was a three-time Big 8 all-conference player at Kansas State and also the conference’s Player of the Year in 1980. Buckner was a member of the 1975-76 undefeated NCAA championship team at Indiana and an Olympic gold medalist in 1976.

Scott was a two-time All-American and 1970 ACC Athlete of the Year playing under Dean Smith at North Carolina. Ed Retleff was a two-time All-American and played for Jerry Tarkanian at Long Beach State.

Donoher spent his entire 25-year coaching career at Dayton, making the NCAA Tournament eight times and NIT seven times and compiling a 437-275 record. Gayles coached both football and basketball at Langston and won 51 consecutive games in basketball and two National Negro championships for each sport. Henson went to the Final Four with New Mexico State and Illinois. Twenty-one of those seasons came with the Fighting Illini and Hensen is the all-time wins leader in 423.

Follow @phillipshoops