Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Minnesota, Temple included in next year’s Puerto Rico Tipoff field

Richard Pitino

Richard Pitino


On Thursday the eight-team field for next season’s Puerto Rico Tipoff was officially unveiled, with Minnesota and Temple being two of the eight programs taking part. Joining the Golden Gophers and Owls will be Butler, Miami, Mississippi State, Missouri State, Texas Tech and Utah.

None of the eight teams reached the NCAA tournament last season, with Minnesota putting together the best postseason run as they won the Postseason NIT. Utah also participated in that event, losing to Saint Mary’s in the first round. Missouri State played in the tournament.

The 2015 Puerto Rico Tipoff will be played November 19, 20 and 22 in San Juan. Two of the eight teams in the field have won the event in the past, with Miami doing so in 2007 and Minnesota winning the 2010 version. Temple finished third in the 2011 Puerto Rico Tipoff.

Follow @raphiellej